top of page

Mushroom Chicken

Homemade cream of mushroom soup, fresh spinach leaves, coconut milk, chopped onions and garlic and parmesan cheese make this homemade dish a success.

homemade, quick and easy, simple meals, meals for big families, healthy dinners

I’ve said it before and I'll say it again, eating a home cooked meal around the table with my family is life giving. We are finally able to sit and decompress our day together.

However, there was a time when it wasn’t like that. We had 4 kids in 4 years. When the youngest was able to join us at the table, mealtime was anything but peaceful. It was loud, messy and frustrating.

In fact, I have a confession to make. I would leave whatever the kids dropped on the kitchen floor overnight so it would dry out. That way it was easier to sweep up and clean the next day. Please don’t tell me I’m the only one who has done that!

Now I have kids old enough to help with dinner chores. And NOTHING gets left on the floor.

We’ve added a new favorite to our dinner meals. Let me start off by saying, I did not feel like making dinner. It was a long day. To make the situation more difficult, I had planned a new recipe as well. So not only did I need to make dinner, but I also had nothing quick and easy on the menu. This new dish had to be made.



I’m so glad I made it. The family loved it. They kept asking what the name of this new dish was. They couldn’t understand why I would wait till they were finished eating to tell them. And they may have become a little concerned when I would ask them over and over how they liked it. Even my pickiest eater said it was good. A few of my kids had second helpings!


Wow Mom! This dinner is so so good! –A Campbell Kid


I bet you’re wondering why I waited to tell them the name of my new recipe. Because if you have kids, you learn real fast there are certain words you DON’T say to children while they are eating.

Mushroom is one! I have another confession to make. I HATE mushrooms. But I LOVE my homemade cream of mushroom soup.





MUSHROOM CHICKEN


INGREDIENTS

  • 5-6 chicken breast cut in half

  • salt & pepper

  • 1 onion, chopped

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced

  • 2 c chopped spinach leaves

  • 1 c coconut milk

  • 1 c shredded parmesan cheese






  1. Preheat to 375°F and spray casserole dish with nonstick spray.

  2. Heat olive oil in cast iron skillet over med heat.

  3. Slice chicken in half long ways. Season with salt, pepper and garlic salt. Place chicken in skillet and cook till close to being done. Transfer chicken to casserole dish. (You made need to add oil periodically to skillet.)

  4. Pour homemade cream of mushroom soup over chicken.

  5. Once all the chicken has been cooked, in same skillet add chopped onions and garlic. Stir till translucent. Add spinach leaves and cook till wilted.

  6. Add coconut milk and bring to a boil. If you want a thicker sauce, add 1 Tb of arrowroot starch.

  7. Once the mixture has boiled for a few minutes, lower heat to simmer and add parmesan cheese. Stir while the cheese melts.

  8. Pour over the mushroom chicken and place in oven.

  9. Finish cooking and heating chicken for 20 minutes or until chicken is tender.

  10. Serve over rice.




Please leave a comment below and share your experience with this recipe.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page